Part One: I’m Supposed to Have a Baby, Not Breast Cancer

The following is a personal story written by Kristy, an ambassador of MyBCTeam, the social network for women facing breast cancer. Below she shares how when planning to begin a family, her breast cancer journey began. If you’ve been diagnosed with breast cancer, go to MyBCTeam and connect with other women who ‘get it’.  Thousands of women from all over the country are here to share not only their stories, but their daily lives: the good days and bad days of living with breast cancer.

.

When I was asked to do this blog, I wasn’t quite sure where to begin. I guess that I’ll begin where any good story begins…the beginning.kristy_photo

.

Well, maybe not the very beginning, 19 years of me growing up is a pretty average story. The beginning of this story starts in October of 1998. I was 19-years-old. At the time, I was trying to set a friend up with a co-worker and wasn’t even thinking about love for myself.

.

We planned a double date, my co-worker and a friend of his and myself and my friend. I never expected that my co-worker’s friend would have every quality that I was attracted to. He was smart, handsome, confident, and funny. Fast forward to November 2006, I now call this man my husband.

.

Jason and I courted for many years because we wanted to finish college before we got married. As a result, we were head over heels in love with each other when we got married. We decided to wait until we had a house and some savings before we started a family. This proved to be difficult for me because all of my friends were having kids and I really wanted to be a Mom.

.

We bought our house in the fall of 2007. Finally, at the end of the spring in 2009 we made a decision. October…October was the month! The month that we would start working on making my dreams come true. July 2009 came, and I was happy as can be. July is my birthday month and my birthday is my favorite day of the year. Then came the end of July.

.

I had been working on painting ceilings, and one night as I went to bed, I extended my arms over my head because it made my aching back feel better. Jason was lying next to me, and reached over to be his silly, playful self and grabbed my right breast. His finger hit a lump.

.

I called the next day and made an appointment with my doctor. My doctor then sent me for a mammogram just to be sure it was nothing. My mammogram was followed by an ultrasound. I sat in the room with the technician and the radiologist, and heard the words “Your lump resembles cancer.”

.

My thoughts were scattered.

.

My lump, what? This isn’t possible. No, no way. I’m supposed to have a baby. You don’t understand. I’m supposed to have a baby…not cancer.

.

August 14, 2009 at 30-years-old, less than two months before I was going to make my dreams come true, a positive biopsy made it official. I had breast cancer.

 

Sign up for MyBCTeam

One thought on “Part One: I’m Supposed to Have a Baby, Not Breast Cancer

Leave a Reply

